Click image to view
By James Roxbury
Monday February 16, 2015 at 10:26 am

Two Harrisburg residents announced bids for city council, Alan Kennedy-Shaffer and Destini Hodges sent a press release Monday morning stating that they will run as a team for the May 19, 2015 primary.

City residents will chose four candidates for the seven member board, Tuesday February 17th is the first day to circulate and file nomination petitions.


Press release from candidates Kennedy-Shaffer and Hodges.

Harrisburg Hope founder Alan Kennedy-Shaffer and School Board member Destini Hodges on Monday announced their candidacy for Harrisburg City Council.

Hodges and Kennedy-Shaffer, Democrats, are the first team in the race.

Kennedy-Shaffer, founder of Harrisburg Hope, said the state capital should be the regional economic engine, and he wants to welcome new businesses and clean up the city.

"Community matters. Business matters. Diversity matters. To rebuild our city, we must dream again. We must lead again. Let's come together and get to work," he said.

Kennedy-Shaffer, a Harrisburg attorney, also serves as a JAG officer in the Pennsylvania Army National Guard.

Hodges, a School Board member and Harrisburg native, said that youth outreach and education are critical, and she wants to take what she has learned to City Council.

"Serving on School Board has been an education. Growing up on Allison Hill in a single-parent home taught me that opportunity is everything," she said.

Hodges, who graduated from Sci-Tech High School, Harrisburg Area Community College and Penn State Harrisburg, is pursuing graduate studies in community and regional planning.

Kennedy-Shaffer and Hodges have been endorsed by Harrisburg School Board members Danielle Robinson, Adara Jackson and James R. Thompson.

Regional supporters include Pennsylvania Auditor General Eugene DePasquale, Carlisle Mayor Tim Scott, Steelton Borough Councilwoman Denae House, Swatara Township Commissioner Tom Connolly and former Lower Paxton Township Supervisor Jay Purdy.

Four of seven City Council seats are on the ballot. The primary is May 19.

Photo provided by the campaign.

Sign Up or Log In to comment.